Council Details

Members and Clerk of the Town Council

There are nine members of Kirkby Stephen Town Council:

  • Chair Mrs Joan Johnstone
  • Vice Chair Mr Paul Richardson
  • Mrs Margaret Albon
  • Mr Alex Birtles
  • Mr Paul Ladhams
  • Mrs Glenys Lumley
  • Mrs Jackie Scarr
  • Mrs Judy Sowerby
  • Mrs Dorothy Thornton


Clerk to the Town Council: Mrs Jeanette Cooper

All Members and the Clerk may be contacted at

Kirkby Stephen Local Links, Vicarage Lane, Kirkby Stephen, Cumbria, CA17 4QX

Tel/Fax 017683 74854

Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Link to the Members Register of Interests


Meetings, agendas and minutes


The Town Council meets at Kirkby Stephen Local Links on Vicarage Lane on the first Tuesday evening of the month at 6.45pm.  Members of the public are most welcome to attend and the first five minutes of every meeting is allocated to public participation.  The deadline for the inclusion of items on the agenda of a meeting is ten days prior to the meeting. All meeting dates are provisional and may be subject to change.  Occasionally it may be necessary to call additional meetings and these will be publicised in Kirkby Stephen Local Links and on the notice board outside the Visitor Centre.

Details of meetings and copies of agendas and minutes are available at Kirkby Stephen Local Links.  Minutes of meetings may also be obtained by clicking on the relevant links below.  Please note that Minutes are approved by Councillors at the following month's meeting.